Living with a Toddler/ A Day with a Toddler

image

Living with a toddler requires a lot of PATIENCE, energy and creativity. Sometimes I am at a loss of things to do or how to react to her tantrums, but as a mom, you always figure it out (you have to). I must admit that her tantrums are improving, either that, or I am getting much better at handling them. She now either takes a shower everyday (although only with me) or lets me wash her up in the sink. At this point I think it is fine – I have given up on battling for this. As long as she is clean, I don’t really feel the need to protest how she prefers to be cleaned. I also give her a bath once a week and she hates me washing her hair, but she is beginning to accept it. And that to me is progress (I do a little cheer in my head every time anything gets accomplished).

My day with Emma consists of a lot of love with tons of arguing/fighting. And when I say arguing/fighting I mean I talk to her about why we need to do certain things and ask her to do certain things but she refuses to do them or ignores me, so I have to be firm and stand my ground and she obviously hates it. So she will cry or argue with me, or both, at which point I don’t have a clue what she is trying to tell me.  It gets pretty exhausting.

This is my usual day-

6:30 a.m. – Time to wake up. I am half asleep and barely functioning. Lately Emma has been waking up throughout the night, I really thought (hoped) those days were over.  If she climbed in our bed in the middle of the night, she might still be grabbing onto my arm hairs. Yes, that’s her thing. She has to grab them and pull them to go to sleep. I have unsuccessfully tried to get her to go to sleep without that habit. If I am lucky enough and she is in deep sleep or has let go of my hairs I wake up and take a shower. Otherwise, I have to carefully let loose.

7 a.m. – she wakes up and refuses to go to the potty or shower. We argue. If my husband hasn’t gone to work yet, he helps out and does the arguing for me while I get ready, until she finally concedes.

7:10 – 7:30 a.m. – We eat breakfast and don’t argue for 10 minutes! She loves her breakfast. This ends once it’s time to brush our teeth. She refuses to brush them so I usually have to brush them while she is “crying.” Lately, she also has had a runny nose and since she doesn’t know how to blow her nose yet, I have to suck out her buggers with a rubber suction-bulb syringe. She hates it, and yup, you guessed it, that’s another “fight.”

7:40 a.m. – We are running out of the house to catch the bus. She refuses to walk so I have to carry her…

8:30 a.m. – Running from her daycare to catch the train

9:00 a.m. – Running from the train to get to work “on time”

9 a.m. – 5 p.m. – Work…..

5 – 5:15 p.m.– Run to catch the train to pick up Emma

5:40 p.m. – Run from the train to the daycare to pick-up Emma. If I have enough time, I will speed walk.

6:00 p.m.  – Wait for the bus (she wants me to go to every store she sees, so this might take longer. We fight and argue if I choose not to go to a store – she always wants something and it’s hard to say NO)

6:30 – 7 p.m. – Get home… Fight to get her in the house – she wants to stay outside but its freezing. Although, lately she has been pretty good about it.

7 p.m. – Eat dinner, play, talk, read – Great time.

8 p.m. – Get ready for bed – Brush teeth (fight), put PJ’s on – she says she doesn’t want to but I tell her it’s so that she is more comfortable. Go to the potty (fight), turn off the lights (tantrum), put her to sleep (tantrum).

8:30 p.m. – She stops screaming and crying and then proceeds to tell me everything about her day, that she wants more milk, more water, needs to blow her nose, etc… anything to avoid going to sleep. I talk to her about school the next day, that she has to get a good night’s sleep, that mommy is tired, that we will play tomorrow, etc… It never works, I always have to leave the room until she is tell me “ok mommy, ok, I’ll go to sleep” so then I go and accompany until she falls asleep. This can take anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour and a half.

Ok, so I am a little dramatic, but it pretty much sums up what my day consist of. As a mom, I love spending every second I can with my daughter, and that is really what I take away from the day –  my time spent with her but that certainly doesn’t take away the exhaustion I feel at the end of the day… Yes, I am the mother of a 2 year old.

Leave a Reply

