Toddler behavior – Terrible Two’s

image

My daughter is 2 years old and yea, there is definitely something about her turning two that changed her behavior. She is very testy and has become an amazing performer when it comes to dry crying. I try not to complain and remain positive about her new attitude – if you’ve watched or read “The Secret”, what you put out there is what you get. However, I also need to acknowledge the facts, and to be honest, she is in her terrible two’s. Lately whenever I need to shower her, change her, brush her teeth or do anything that needs to get done to get out of the house or go to bed, she refuses to do it. I always try talking it out with her (which worked before) or wagering with her, but now I am at a loss… I have to be firm, which makes her cry (for real), and just get it done while she is having a tantrum… This makes it very difficult and obviously not something I look forward to – Like any parent, I hate seeing my child cry. I am working on this and below are suggestions that I found that I will try out this week –

Mothering.com – http://www.mothering.com/community/t/356729/my-toddler-refuses-to-take-a-bath-shower

What to Expect – http://www.whattoexpect.com/toddler/behavior/resisting-bath-time.aspx

I will start a new routine. Maybe she dislikes the fact that I shower her right after she uses the potty. I will also attempt to give her more choices – her favorite word is NO, so we will see how that works out. She also hates to have her hair washed, but I will work on that after she actually takes a shower/bath.

I found a great article on parenting.com that gives a better understanding to the causes of a toddler tantrum and how to address it when it happens. http://www.parenting.com/article/toddler-temper-tantrums?page=0,1

Leave a Reply

